Home > Uncategorized > Just Passed 70-515!

Just Passed 70-515!

That’s right, Dot Net Dawson is now Dot Net Dawson, MCTS. Boo ya!

My preparation was a bit dubious…  I bought the Measure Up practice exams, but there weren’t many questions and they were all easy. I “memorized” them in about an hour of studying (the questions are about what I do everyday, so I knew 90% of the answers already) then promptly signed up for the test.

I was really surprised.  I breezed through the test, a fifth of which was jQuery related questions, and half of which were practically straight off the Measure Up practice exams. Almost all of the questions tested good, relevant practices that I use in my every day programming life. I didn’t have to know random junk that someone back in the 90’s used and probably won’t use again unless they’re working on a legacy system.

Moral of the story? The Measure Up exam is well worth it.

Here’s some links for ya:

Microsoft 70-515 – http://www.microsoft.com/learning/en/us/exam.aspx?ID=70-515

Measure Up – http://www.measureup.com/catalog/product.aspx?vid=5&cid=All%20MS%20Practice%20Tests&tid=94&pid=2462

I also read through Niall Merrigan’s summary posts of MSDN and various articles pertaining to the exam:

Post 1 of 6: http://www.certsandprogs.com/2010/03/mcts-web-applications-net-4-70-515.html#axzz0itb23Kze

Post 2 of 6: http://www.certsandprogs.com/2010/03/mcts-web-applications-net-4-70-515_22.html#axzz0itbEIovG

Post 3 of 6: http://www.certsandprogs.com/2010/03/mcts-web-applications-net-4-70-515_5119.html#axzz0oCbfdXaw

Post 4 of 6: http://www.certsandprogs.com/2010/03/mcts-web-applications-net-4-70-515_7210.html#axzz0oCbhIwtI

Post 5 of 6: http://www.certsandprogs.com/2010/03/mcts-web-applications-net-4-70-515_23.html#axzz0oCbkS7R4

Post 6 of 6: http://www.certsandprogs.com/2010/03/mcts-web-applications-net-4-70-515_1117.html#axzz0oCblHj8M

Best of luck!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Krip
    July 17, 2010 at 7:47 pm

    Congratulations!

  2. Paul
    July 19, 2010 at 5:46 pm

    Congrats!

    Question: I am in a study group with coworkers for 70-515, and am teaching the client scripting material. I found Niall’s summary of AJAX/Client side scripting (Part 3) was predominantly jQuery based. You said the total exam was 20% jQuery, but did the exam also test the javascript plumbing that jQuery handles for you? For example, manipulating the DOM, handling events, etc. Should I bother going into the details, or just stick with the jQuery?

    Thanks and congrats again!

    • July 19, 2010 at 7:02 pm

      All JavaScript interaction on the test is predominately jQuery based, so it’s definitely a great idea to make sure your class understands the basics of jQuery: selectors, binding events, and some basic functions (hide, show, toggling classes). I remember a question about script loading as well, so make sure they know the differences and purposes of Sys.require, defineScripts, and registerScript. It is possible that my test was unnaturally biased towards the jQuery based questions, and I “luckily” was not asked a number of Microsoft Ajax questions… as long as you can establish a good working knowledge of JavaScript and how to write it, your students should be able to weed out the unnatural answers to any JavaScript questions.

  3. Princess
    February 24, 2011 at 3:53 am

    Hi I want to take the exam for 70-515. But the measure up you mentioned is expensive. I would like to ask if you have some of the questions that you can share with me.. thanks

    • February 24, 2011 at 3:57 am

      No, I don’t have questions to share. Nor would I. It is well worth the cost; they guarantee you’ll pass the test if you buy the materials. If you don’t, they refund you! With the work that comes naturally to people this test targets, a couple of hours of work will recoup the complete costs of the certification and preparation materials. Don’t scoff at giving people their due.

  4. Ygor
    March 15, 2011 at 1:52 am

    How many questions have this exam ? Which the time for make it ?

    Thanks you!

    • March 15, 2011 at 2:14 am

      If I remember correctly, it was around a hundred. There was plenty of time to complete them all, and to even double check them all if necessary. You have several hours.

  5. mehwish hanif
    April 30, 2011 at 5:07 pm

    hi
    congrats on passing
    were there any simulation part or only multiple choice.
    thanks

    • January 9, 2012 at 6:16 pm

      I don’t 100% remember, but I believe it was all multiple choice.

  6. August 15, 2012 at 2:37 am

    Would you recommend studying from the Microsoft Self Paced Training Kit? Or would you just study from the Measure Up exams?

    • August 15, 2012 at 4:30 pm

      Measure Up exams might adequately prepare you, depending on what your existing knowledge covers. Keep in mind that I did not need to prepare much because my work overlapped perfectly with what was tested. I probably would have passed without any preparation. Measure Up gave me a 20-30% boost. Worth it? Certainly.

  7. May 8, 2013 at 10:05 pm

    Pretty great post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished
    to say that I’ve truly enjoyed browsing your weblog posts. In any case I will be subscribing in your feed and I am hoping you write once more soon!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

